About Us

History of the Society

The Mid-Peninsula area became a potential dental society entity after World War II as the dentists practicing in the area increased in number. The concept of a Mid-Peninsula Dental Society was conceived at the Tuesday luncheons of a small group of local dentists. These men had the vision and courage to recognize a mutual professional need for such a society which would include dentists in Menlo Park, Palo Alto and Los Altos. California Dental Association President, William S. Smith, officially presented the charter January 19, 1956.

Frederick C. Hadeler was installed as President, Alan R. Cass as President-Elect, James R. Cross, Treasurer; John S. Ledgerwood, Editor; E. Pearl Hannah, Librarian-Historian; Carl H Ellertson, Jr. and Joseph B. Weeden as Directors.

The boundary on the west was Skyline Boulevard and on the east San Francisco Bay. Several years later, Mountain View voted to join the Mid-Peninsula Dental Society, making a total of four cities. The society is unique in its geographical limits; it is the only bi-county society in the California Dental Association. Since the official presentation of the charter, the society has grown in size, influence, and prestige and has participated in many worthwhile civic projects. On June 19, 1956 a successful  community dental society project provided the people of Palo Alto with protection from dental caries by fluoridation of its water supply. 

In 1957 under Seminar and Study Club Chairman, Shirl S. Fox, the society held its first annual Dental Seminar at Adobe Creek Lodge, Los Altos. Since that time highly successful yearly seminars have been held. The seventh Annual Seminar was presented at Palo Alto Hills Country Club in September, 1963 under the Chairmanship of Gorden Kretchmar. These events are attended each year by many members from neighboring societies; a testimonial to the quality and worth of these affairs. After eight years of existence, the society consisted of 188 dentists. Today, the membership consists of 274 members and the society serves the cities of Atherton, Los Altos, Menlo Park, Mountain View and Palo Alto.

Mid-Peninsula Dental Society Presidents

1956 Fred C. Hadeler                                                     1990 Ronald Gordon
1957 Alan R. Cass                                                          1991 Robert Byers
1958 James Cross                                                          1992 Gary Eggers
1959 Carls H. Ellertson, Jr.                                              1993 Bert Rouleau
1960 B.O.A. Thomas                                                       1994 Kevin Sawyer
1961 Alfred R. Bothell                                                      1995 Terry Fiori
1962 Robert Lewis                                                           1996 Brian Scott
1963 Norman McFate                                                      1998 Steve Larson
1964 Blaine Clements                                                      1999 Joseph Krauss
1965 Thomas Booth                                                         2000 William Palank
1966 Donald Zimmerman                                                 2001 James Stephens
1967 Philip Armi                                                               2002 Neil Ross
1968 Douglas Morrison                                                    2003 Elizabeth Doi
1969 Robert Lundquist                                                     2004 Sandra Arita
1970 Guy Cochran                                                           2005 Kingston Shih
1971 Melvyn Johnsen                                                      2007 Tim Miller
1973 Benjamin Farnum                                                    2008 Brian Mills
1974 Duane Kalar                                                            2009 Mehran Fotovatjah
1975 James Cunningham                                                2010 Greg Armi
1976 Ernest Webb                                                           2011 Eric Chu
1977 Alvin Janklow                                                          2012 Indira Sahiwal
1978 Herbert Mankin                                                       2013 Fella Benyammi
1979 Robert McWilliams                                                 2014 Leland Panec
1980 Irl Seifer                                                                  2015 Ken Schweifler
1981 Thomas Schafer                                                     2016 Reza Riahi
1982 Bruce Fogel                                                            2017 Joyce Cheng
1983 Ken Kato                                                                2018  Christopher Joy
1984 Robert Turner
1985 Michael Brugos
1986 Lana Sundahl
1987 Stanley Lent
1988 Richard Durando
1989 Timothy Leary